Duncan Public Library -
Electronic Databases
Online Databases provided by The Oklahoma Department of Libraries
(please call for passwords and instructions 255-0636)
|
Discoverer contains full-text, indexed articles and graphics from more than 1,400 magazines, newspapers and U.S. Government documents. The articles date from 1992 to the present. Articles and graphics are carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability. Based on Flesch Reading Ease scale, each article is assigned to a reading level category: General (Encyclopedia, Almanac entries, and Photo Essays), Easy (grades 1-4), Moderate (grades 5-7), or Challenging (grades 8 and above).
|
|
| Part
of EbscoHost and designed for elementary and middle school children.
Searchasaurus is an exciting and easy way for young researchers to
experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur
theme that encourages young researchers to enhance and develop basic
search methodologies. They will be riveted by the colorful, animated
interface as they gather information on a wide range of topics.
Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for
young patrons to read and research only appropriately challenging
materials.
|
|
| EBSCOhost
provides full-text access to articles from hundreds of journal
titles. Includes the following databases: MasterFILE Premier Books in Print with Reviews Business Source Elite Health Source: Consumer Edition USP DI Volume II, Advice for the Patient Newspaper Source Academic Search Elite MAS FullTEXT Ultra Middle Search Plus Primary Search Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia EBSCO Animals Professional Development Collection ERIC Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Comp MEDLINE w/ MeSH
|
|
| NetLibrary offers over 4000 electronic books for checkout, includes Cliffs Notes and Complete Idiot Guides. Visit the library to set up your e-book library card. | |
|
Kid's Version |
InfoTrac
K-12 Kids Edition is a multi- source general interest database
designed for elementary schools. It provides indexing, abstracts, and full
text childrens and general interest magazines, reference books and
thousands of newspaper articles.
Student Edition is comprised of a variety of full-text sources that include the leading magazines, newspapers and reference books. |
![]() http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org |
FirstSearch includes
the following databases: |
|
|
Oklahoma
Statewide Catalog holds approximately three million records from more
than 500 Oklahoma libraries. Anyone can browse the catalog to find out
what's available through any of Oklahoma's libraries. Using the catalog is
a quick way to find which library has a book or item that your own library
doesn't have on the shelves. After determining who has what you are
looking for, you can visit your local library and borrow the item(s)
through interlibrary loan.
|
| Duncan Public
Library 815 W. Ash Ave Duncan, OK 73533 (580) 255-0636 1-888-480-9252 http://www.duncan.lib.ok.us duncanpl@texhoma.net |
Last Update: 12/16/04